Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a National framework for learning, development and care for children from birth to five years.  Every child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfil their potential.  A child’s experience in the early years has a major impact on their future life’s chances.  A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right and it provides a foundation for children to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.  When parents choose to use early years services they want to know that the provision helps keep their child safe and helps them to thrive.  The EYFS is the framework that provides that assurance.


The over-arching aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the five “Every Child Matters” outcomes of; being healthy, staying safe, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and achieving economic well-being.


The EYFS principles which guide the work of all practitioners are grouped into four distinct, but complimentary themes as follows:-


A  Unique Child

Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Learning & Development

Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early year’s provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.



We plan a range of activities, experiences and opportunities and this is very responsive to the current needs and interests of the children. The two main areas of planning are long-term and short term.


The long term planning covers all seven areas of learning and development which are:- communication and  language, physical,  personal, social and emotional, literacy, mathematics, understanding the world, and expressive arts and design.  A brief description of these seven areas is shown below.

The short-term planning is informed by the key person who will use their observations to create a learning story and will then plan resources, activities, experiences and opportunities, matched to children’s individual needs and interests. Much of the EYFS will be covered in the experiences children have every day through their interactions with others at all parts of the routine and through the resources they explore and experiences they are involved in regularly.


Communication and Language

Development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of ways.


Physical Development

Involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive and also to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Involves helping children to develop a positive a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.



Development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.




Involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.


Understanding the World

Involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.


Expressive Arts and Design

Involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.